RSS Feed

Time Vs. Money part I: The Case For Money

Busy people either have no choice but to be busy, or they act out of compulsion. Places to go, people to see, bills to be paid, gotta make some more money, honey… And the cycle is endless.

Children pay the price.

I know this firsthand. At my busiest I was working 60-70 hour weeks. Once I clocked 85, and my health began to fall apart, causing me to give even less time and attention to my girls. I found that the less time I gave my children, the more money I would spend on them to try to make them feel loved.

Here is the between-the-lines text for you:

“Archangela, it’s present time! I bought you some fancy new flower tights!” Translated: “I don’t have time to watch you dance, but here is something to wear while you dance by yourself.”

“Abigail, I got you a cute little outfit!” Translated: “I know you’re a baby and really don’t care, but at least other people will think I spend time getting you dolled up.”

And the worst gift of all… “Archangela, I got you some new craft supplies!” Translated: “I don’t have time to draw with you; clean up after you; or put your artwork into a scrapbook. So please use these quietly while I get ready for work until your babysitter arrives. Thank you.”

What a sobering reality! Clearly, the amount of $$ spent is irrelevant. The children are alone either way. Tomorrow we will hear the Case for Time.

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

One response »

  1. I’m so happy that my nieces have you all to themselves now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

