RSS Feed

Cut Your Own Hair

Cut Your Own Hair

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Several months ago I bemoaned to a co-worker, my friend Angel, my lack of time to go in for a hair appointment. My stylist always did an incredible job, however money was tight and time was even tighter to get myself to the salon. Then, a light was turned on for me when Angel informed me she has been cutting her own hair for years, and I have always admired her shag hairstyle! I took note of her instructions, adjusting it somewhat for my desired style. Several months later, I have used the technique many times and would like to share my joyful results with you.

This style works for long hair. The wispy look is carefree, reminiscent of the 1970’s, easy to style, and good for busy women as the cutting process should only take about five minutes. As a disclaimer, I am not a professional. I am a woman who wants to achieve healthy, beautiful hair, quickly and inexpensively.

How to Cut Your Shag Hairstyle

  1. Bend forward at the waist, and brush your dry hair into a ponytail at the top of your forehead.
  2. Cut straight across at the desired length. (I like an Eclipse Cushion-Grip Shears from www.sallybeauty.com $19.99 for members) Remember, cutting about eye level will give you about chest-length hair, so don’t be nervous about all that hair landing in the trash. If you are creating new layers, the bulk of what you cut off if coming from the upper layers. (This step is easy, so if you are unsure, allow ‘room for improvement’ by starting out with longer layers.)
  3. Flip your hair back and check for accuracy, using a mirror or a friend to see the back. You can always repeat step 2 if needed.
  4. Bangs or no bangs? At this time in my life, I like bangs! I use a texture shears which I purchased on Sally Beauty for about $15. I clean it up with my regular regular shears. If you are creating bangs for the first time, select the amount of hair carefully. There is a big difference between Lea Michelle’s thick bangs and Audrey Hepburn’s delicately ultra-short fringe in Breakfast At Tiffany’s. Hold hair between two fingers over your forehead, and cut a slight rainbow shape, allowing extra length to any cowlicks. One more thing–vision-obstruction is so overrated… if you can’t see, trim them shorter, or clip them to the side! my preference is to not have bangs that cover one’s eyes!
  5. If you want to get a fancier edge such as choppy layers, look up more involved instructions online, or take some professional classes. Whatever you decide to do with your hair: Have fun, look fabulous, and drink your coffee 🙂
About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

5 responses »

  1. Oh, I love that you have pictures up! Do you think ti would work with my shorter hair?

    Reply
  2. On another note, while your hair is in the ponytail, this is an excellent chance to condition the ends of your hair with your chosen product. This helps control possible flyaways, without losing body from your bump (if you have one!) and your longer tresses.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Cut Your Own Hair (Short!) « (mid) Western Woman

  4. Pingback: Services I No Longer Pay For | (mid) Western Woman

Leave a Reply

