RSS Feed

Downsizing: Moving 101

Moving day is fast approaching! Going from Montana to Minnesota in a matter of days is a job for the strong. I will maximize my few days through careful planning. According to my research and experience, here is the map for the next few days.

  1. Sizing it up: What to keep, what to lose.
  2. Acquiring storage units: One in Minnesota to hold our excess, also a storage trailer to keep in Montana for work purposes.
  3. Packing it up: Thankfully, with the help of sisters and a dear friend.
  4. Loading the truck: With my husband, hopefully another strong male to help with furniture. Otherwise… I ain’t of Scandinavian descent for nothing.
  5. Cleaning it up: National polls instruct renters to leave the home “sweep-clean.”
  6. Driving the 17’ truck: From Montana to Minnesota! Whew…
  7. Unload and unpacking: Make sure to unpack clearly marked “high priority” items first.

 

Sizing it up: Downsizing

Our new living quarters will be significantly smaller than what we are used to. We will have to downsize a lot.

My first decision regards big things like furniture. For example, is it cheaper to transport and store an extra couch or replace it at a later date? Also, if I store it, will it still be in good condition when it comes out of storage? I decide to sell or give away some of my furniture.

What to lose: I will downsize the couch, some smaller furniture pieces, a few storage totes of toys, baby gear, dishes, and books. I will do this by advertising on our local “craigslist” for people to come pick up their chosen items, no later than the middle of next week.

We have some antique and vintage items. I am not very sentimental, so I will sell what I can, and save what is left to sell at a later date. Another note to consider is items that may appreciate if we keep them longer to sell for more money down the road.

Throughout the downsizing process, I use my late maternal grandfather’s technique:

  1. Divide all possessions into piles of yes, no, and maybe.
  2. Pitch the piles of no and maybe, keeping only the yes.

This may be extreme, but I will not subject myself to being imprisoned by a cluttered house. I would rather dream about what I don’t have than trip over what I do have.

Here’s to packing tape and elbow grease!

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

2 responses »

  1. you are doing very well! I am quite impressed with your give-away pile. I think you should take a photo of it as a trophy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

