RSS Feed

So Tired You Can’t Think Straight

So Tired You Can’t Think Straight

Yes, we have all been there. Late nights of packing, so tired you can’t think straight… but these 3 rooms must be finished tonight! What happens to babies when famine strikes your time?

In moments like these, it is so easy to overlook the wide blue eyes calling out to me, holding a ball and saying, “Mama? Mama?” And then a more frantic, “Mama! Mama!

The baby wants love, never mind how busy the circumstances are. So, for a time I continue on in oblivion until my conscious mind becomes aware of her cries. Then I hear her, change my attitude and adjust my priorities to play ball with my baby. The packing can wait. If I get a little behind schedule, the world surely will not come to a screeching halt.

You know what? We are all babies, crying out to someone for time out of their busy lives. Babies want you to drop your project, coddle them, assure them that their current need, such as playing ball, is what you desire to do, above all other things in the world. Your baby may be a sibling, a spouse, a co-worker, or a random stranger.

I have several babies in my life, in fact, I am one of them! Yes, I am a baby. I need love. I need to stop and pamper myself, and I need other people, like my sis Nina, to rub my shoulders for no reason. I need my husband to write me silly love poems. I need people to invest a part of their lives in me.

How to baby your babies when you are tired? Coffee anyone? And, rest when you can. Turn off the TV show, especially if it’s after midnight (guilty swallowing moment of silence here) Also, good enough is good enough… i.e. Don’t stress about being Martha Stewart home, because no matter how hard you try you will never be Martha Stewart, unless just that happens to be your name 🙂

Baby your babies, and baby yourself. And… don’t be afraid to request babying.

Cheers 🙂

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

2 responses »

  1. very true! I hope you get all the help you need for your move

    Reply

Leave a Reply

