RSS Feed

Home Organization: Coffee Mug Hooks

You know something has to change when you close the cupboard quickly to avoid an avalanche. Especially when you’re talking about potentially breakable dishes! Today we just might have a solution for your coffee mugs, and you probably have all the equipment you need right in your toolbox.

My mother-in-law, who inspired this post, is so handy with tools. You can see her DIY skills in her flowery kitchen, artfully celebrating the best part of the day: Coffee time.

You will need: Hooks, a drill, possibly a piece of wood, and paint (if desired). If you wish to get fancier in your design, you may need your whole toolbox, but I’m not going there!

  1. Select your spot to display your mugs. Mark with a pencil, holding up mugs to size the spacing.
  2. Determine if the spot requires extra reinforcement. If it does, plan to add the appropriate wood piece.
  3. Insert the screws, using the drill to help you start the hole.
  4. You may need to use a pliers to flatten the hooks out if the curve is too tight for the mug handles.
  5. Hang your favorite mugs and enjoy!

I recently helped my sister with some kitchen organization, and we were able to put up hooks for her mugs; (OK… I tried to help, except the desired location lacked a wooden panel to put the hooks into. So, her husband graciously took over and created a sturdy wood piece for the hooks to go onto, and attached the piece to the wall.) Any-hoo, the desired effect was achieved with her prettiest mugs on display, and the rest residing much more comfortably in the cupboard.

A note on kitchen clutter…

I don’t feel the need to keep a lot of dishes on hand for that once-every-five-years dinner party with twenty guests. When and if that should ever happen, believe me, I will be using disposable party dishes. This logic recently led me to purge 2/3 of my mish-mash dishes collection. Whew! (It’s liberating to people like me.)

Even though I’m not much for collecting things, mugs, may be an exception. My rule is that if I collect something, it must be used. I love mugs! They offer many uses, from coffee or cereal to holding flowers or pens; mugs provide entertainment and encouragement by their decorative text and artisticl design; mugs might be keepsakes, each one  a memory; and, best of all, while other dishes generally follow a complementing theme, mugs don’t have to match!  So, you see, I have convinced myself. If I like the mug, it stays.

Happy kitchen-organizing! Hopefully today’s tip helps!

Cheers! (Raising my coffee mug)

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

