RSS Feed

Red Carpet Skin? Naturally!

I got to thinking the news is a bit Snooki’d out. Enough with the spray tan, we all know that natural is the new bronzed. Think Amanda Seyfried, Nicole Kidman, Scarlett Johansen, and the list goes on.

Who’s that white girl in the picture? Why… It’s me! (Couple years ago at a pageant. What fun!) I was seriously one of the whitest girls on stage. I look forward to doing that again sometime, standing up for the  “Natural” Modern Woman. Tan can be a hard to let go of mentally. I am so Scandinavian and will still be white at the end of the summer! Instead I embrace a 1940’s elegance featuring my lilly-white skin, trademark hats and fascinators, and movie-star red lips.

Spring is almost here, and I’m excited to get outside and enjoy some vitamin D. Pool time can’t get here soon enough Garden plans are dancing through my head, and I can almost feel the warm breeze kissing my skin as I kneel in the dirt with my barefoot daughters. I can hardly wait!

(Disclaimer: I tan sometimes to avoid burning in the sun. The warm lights feel good, too! All in moderation, of course.)

Please, be encouraged to enjoy the outdoors year round, cherish your natural color, and know that you are indeed fearfully and wonderfully made in the image of your Creator; and that, dearest Princess of fair or dark skin, is the greatest compliment you will ever recieve.

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

