RSS Feed

Kitchen Bath

Kitchen Bath

I just may have to install a shower in my kitchen. Better yet, a claw-foot tub, which can double as a major washing station for my squashes later on this year! Or perhaps I could build a pantry to expand my tiny little bathroom. ¿Por qué? Today’s experiment involved exclusive use of kitchen items for my bath routine. Just for fun, education, and the chance of finding something to improve health, wealth, and happiness.

I began said journey when I brushed my teeth with baking soda.

The Egg & I…you guessed it! I then proceeded by washing my hair with an egg. https://westernwoman.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/natural-beauty-hair/

The mixture of sugar and olive oil serves several purposes; 1) exfoliation, 2) cleansing, 3) shaving “cream”, and, 4) moisturizing. https://westernwoman.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/sugar-olive-oil/

Shower and shaving complete, I was able to skip applying body lotion. My olive oil-treated skin remains moisturized until the next shower.

Baking soda: Not just for brushing teeth and making cupcakes. I used baking soda in place of deoderant (Note: if exercising, etc. re-application may be necessary.)

For deep cleansing, we have already discussed the wonders of a raw honey mask. For my skin type, such an application is ideally used twice every week. https://westernwoman.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/lovelo-my-latest-and-greatest-beauty-find/

The kitchen bath solutions described today must be personalized for every body. I will continue to share my findings, and ask you to return the favor! The results can be a improvement in health and beauty, as well as possible money savings.

On home improvement? Ay, corazón!…The sad truth is I don’t see a beautiful claw-foot tub in my kitchen materializing anytime soon. The chances of a pantry added onto the bathroom are just as slim at the moment. However, I have filled chic little bottles and containers with olive oil, sugar, etc. allowing me to fit a small portion of necessary kitchen items into the minuscule recesses of the bathroom. And that, my friends, is what I call the true genius of it all.

Cheers, Darling.

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

4 responses »

  1. elhogarsencillo

    Cute! I love this post. So true that many beauty secrets are simple and inexpensive. What I use instead of hair conditioner is a combination of vinegar and water (1:1). Then I add my favorite essential oils (cedarwood is especially good for hair I’ve heard, and helps keep dandruff away.) The best part is that as soon as it dries, it no longer smells like vinegar either, but there is a lingering essential oil smell and my hair is soft and silky.

    Reply
  2. rrruby123@hotmail.com

    Wow! I liked those tips. I didn’t know about the backing soda as deoderant; very interesting. I heard that mayonnaise can also be used for damaged hair tips, I used it ones and my hair was very shiny the next day.
    Elhogarcensillo: Thanks for the vinegar and water tip! It isn’t amazing? all our women best secrets can be found in the Kitchen. 🙂

    Gracias chicas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

