RSS Feed

the (mid) West: our little slice of heaven

The beautiful bright orange Harley Davidson instantly captured my attention when I pulled into the gas station. Having a biker for a mother in law has opened my eyes to the thrill of the biker culture. A quick conference with my 3-year-old confirmed that this was certainly a photo-op.

The gentleman seemed bemused yet highly pleased at my interest in his bike, and our brief conversation covered his current somber trip to bring back the body of a fallen soldier; to what areas we like in the midwest; and finally, what I write about in my blog.

What do I write about? I told him, “I write about being a mom and the virtues of ‘Western Living.’

What does that even mean? Perhaps the term conjures up the scent of barbecue, lounging outdoors, a perfect lawn, the promise of Sara Lee pie for dessert, and kids involved in soccer, basketball, gymnastics, ballet, AWANA, swim, and choir.  (Gag… oops, sorry!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of my earliest memories were fondly listening to Little House on the Prairie. This is somewhat closer to my vision, but I really like internet, cars, and a few other things. So, balance.

You could say it comes down to pioneering to find a better life for the family; dilligently working the land and other resources; persevering when things get rough; believing that things will get better; and most of all enjoying our part of the country, as our modern biker cowboys and cowgirls do.

Maybe that’s why I ran up to get my picture with the sweet motorcycle today. It made me think once more about what we stand for and what inspires us in the (mid) West!

Cheers! Here’s to living our potential in our little slice of heaven.

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

