RSS Feed

Why Forage?

Why Forage?
  1. Foraged greens are almost always more nutritious than store-bought salad veggies. (what are foraged greens? Edible plants gathered from the wild–or your own chemical-free backyard.)
  2. Cost effective: It’s free!
  3. Time is reasonable; this delicious plate of salad took me less than 5 minutes to gather while I chatted on the phone with my friend Angie, kept an eye on my baby, soaked in vitamin D, and felt the healing, warm earth under my bare feet. Have you ever gone to the store just for salad ingredients? I have! From the time I leave the house to when I get back with the groceries, it takes a minimum of 45 minutes.
  4. Save some for later! I gathered an extra bucket to freeze some for the winter. What a treat for my comforting winter soups on a cold day! Thanks sis Elisa for the tip 🙂
  5. Edible plants are easy to recognise; google for pictures if you are unsure.  My everyday salad favorites include lambs quarters, wood sorrel,  and dandelion. For cuts, burns, and mosquito bites, topically applied plantain soothes and draws out infection. Before you consume anything, be sure of its identity–beware of poisonous plants!

Happy foraging, eating, and saving.

Be blessed,

Western Woman

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

