RSS Feed

Celebrate Your Progress

cobblestone roadGetting restless with the journey? Wondering if things are truly changing? As my quarter-centennarianship matures to a healthy 26 years of age, I consider (simplifying my vocabulary!) the beauty of time. I love to have things now. But ultimatums don’t work, not really. I found something in my Bible, a chicken-scratch penned in years ago; “Microwave Christians & a Slow-Cooker God.”

Challenges can make time stand still with nothing to show for it, but in reality I am not the same person I was a year ago.

At this time I pause to give thanks and reflect on what God has done in me and around me in that last year:

1. I love God more. (The me from last year seems painfully childish in this respect. Sneaky.)

2. Our family has blossomed, developed as a unit, and even expanded! Baby # 3 is very cute and little, safe inside me.

3. I am now a Zumba instructor, a quiet dream that I never thought would be a reality. Joy!

4. On the note of fitness, I have developed tiny little (but surely there) biceps. I also have kind-of pink hair, a tattoo, and I get to wear jeans every day since I no longer manage at Kmart.

5. We are looking to buy a home. That means we are now grown-ups.

6. Today, the day before my birthday is my legal wedding anniversary. I have fallen in love again with my husband of 6 years!

7. I have found ugly selfishness in my character and ask the Lord to renew me. In this way I take up my cross daily.

8. God has brought a loving church family into our lives. This bond is strong and powerful, causing us to be stronger and want to love Jesus more every day.

9. In the last year I think I cut our possessions in half. What a relief. Huge.

10. We moved from beautiful Montana to “camp out” with my mother-in-law, who graciously lets us rent/share her home. I never thought I would live with parents or in-laws; but it has been an experience full of adjustments, humility, silliness, and learning to say “no,” to myself. The course the God lays out for us is always preparation for character qualities needed for the future.

What do you celebrate? Do you move forward blindly or stop to ponder how marvelous you are, and what God has done for you?

Cheers,

Western Woman

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

