RSS Feed

Prayer and Zumba

Prayer and Zumba

How do we feed the spirit?

When I listen to Christian music, I can be fed spiritually. I often sing heartfelt worship, or just listen to KTIS in the background. I might even enter into worship in the process. But how much have I actually conversed with God? i.e. on-your-knees, sincere, face-to-face talking with God?

Listening to praise and worship is essential to prayer! Let me compare prayer time with another activity which frequents my life: Zumba, baby!

As a newly certified Zumba instructor, I spend a lot of time listening to my dance music. I need to know it backwards and forwards, inside and out so that I can properly teach a class. If I miss a step due to not knowing my music, the whole class loses part of their workout. So, listening to good music is extremely beneficial, BUT simply listening and even singing along with good music is neither a dance nor a workout.

Our time is short. We don’t have a lot of time to impact our world. The days are coming when simply claiming to love God will mean death. We know this is foretold, and we see it throughout the world even now. This is not a time to mess around with a lukewarm relationship with the Lord.

My husband often says, ‘The only place success comes before training is in the dictionary.”

  • We train on our knees.
  • We learn how to talk to an unsaved co-worker by first reading John 3:16, 1 John 1:9, Isaiah 41.10, etc.
  • We exude contagious happiness that makes people want what we have by spending time in God’s presence, worshiping; and getting an IV infusion of constant joy. (Incidentally, my eldest’s middle names are Constance Joy :P)

Worship, listen to good music, drink in Scripture, and pray.

Are we grooving, or do we need to draw pictures?

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

Leave a Reply

