RSS Feed

A Time For Everything

Many consider me to be a workaholic. For a year and a half I have survived and even thrived working at least 50 hours/week at my job; also managing a home; and striving to be a perfect wife and mother.
When does one say ‘enough is enough’? This last month I moved to a different town, suffered physical illness, and for the most part maintained my regular work schedule. I was stretched like a rubber band about to break.
Then I gave my 2-weeks notice. There was a certain amount of pressure to give more, more, more. I was already giving my all when I should really have been in bed taking cold medicine. But that is how I am… a workaholic.
Finally, I was asked to work my day off, and I decided–that was the moment: Enough is enough. I answered, “No.”
One can work themselves to exhaustion some of the time for a special occasion. But one cannot and definitely should not work themselves into an early grave all the time for everyday circumstances.
Yes, there is a time to work hard. There are causes worth fighting for, like faith, family, freedom, and country–but at times a workaholic has to look in the mirror and rehearse the hardest two letters in the alphabet; “No.”
The moral to my story? Decide for yourself when your health is worth sacrificing.
Will you practice with me? “No, no, no, no, no.”

Your thoughts?

Western Woman

About westernwoman

"To find adventure where it exists, and create it where it does not." This applies to the love relationship with Jesus, stewardship of finances, family, and decluttering the home! Rejoice in the day-to-day. My purpose is to empower women in their daily joys and challenges. My message to women everywhere is, "Smell the flowers and drink your coffee." Cheers, Western Woman

3 responses »

  1. I’m so proud of you for doing the right thing! And not only for your own health but for your daughters who had need of you. Now you continue working hard taking care of them…but hopefully sneak in a nap or two here and there when they’re napping!

    The word NO is a hard word to say sometimes. I think as I have matured though, I say it more. I care less what people think than I used to! 🙂

    Reply
  2. i’m so glad you fin ally can rest and be with your girls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

